top of page
Search

UnHappy Camper - Graphic Novel



Harper Collins

April 23rd, 2024


My Review

5/5

Loved it. So relatable. A tale of two sisters. When they join kindergarten for the first time they have different reactions to prejudice and racism. One denies her culture and tries to fit in following the other children and trying to please them. The other embraces her culture and aims to make real friends. The first has a harder time because she is always stressed not wanting to make a mistake and be an outcast, but soon she will learn the meaning of true friends and family. She joins summer camp with her sister and although she resists it all for a while she finally understands what it feels like to feel at peace and embrace her culture. She even makes an effort to mend things with her sister.


Very sweet story. It's very hard to not fall into that trap of denying our origins to avoid criticism. Even adults struggle with that. The best feeling is when you let go of that fear and embrace who you are and if you have siblings who experience the same then hold on to them with all your might. Family is stronger than bullies.



Thank you netgalley and Publisher for this e-ARC.


Get it here. Harper Collins site with links to all stores.



From the publisher:

From the acclaimed creators of Measuring Up, author Lily LaMotte and illustrators Ann Xu and Sunmi, comes a graphic novel about two sisters—one who embraces her Taiwanese culture and one eager to do away with it—who rebuild their bond at a Taiwanese American summer camp. Perfect for fans of Be Prepared and Sisters, this is a heartwarming story about the importance of being true to yourself.

Would you rather blend in or stand out? Claire and Michelle used to be best friends, but now the two sisters couldn’t be more different. Michelle will do anything to fit in, even if it means denying her Taiwanese culture, whereas Claire is proud of who she is. So much so that she decides to become a junior counselor at a Taiwanese American summer camp.

Sensing a rift between the two, their parents decide to send them both off to camp, much to Michelle’s dismay. As summer continues, both sisters learn more about their culture and each other. But Michelle must eventually decide to either embrace her culture and family or assimilate into the popular group at school. Which will she choose? 

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page