top of page
Search

Trip to the Library... books


Trip to the library this week was fun. This time visited the graphic novel section for the kids. So many good books.


Bookstagrammer Crayons and Croissants suggested The Cardboard Kingdom. So cool!

So glad my local library has 2 volumes.


I wish I had played like this when I was younger. So creative to make customers out of cardboard that translates so well to our personality.


There's a place for everywhere All stories are welcomed Some episodes have no words but deep meaning Lots of short stories in one single volume Imagination, Make belief for fantasy lovers Sometimes addresses really sad, serious, relatable issues.


I would have made a Sorceress too, what about you? Knight? Huntress? Dragon? Hero? Dark forces?


Which one would you be? Tell me the first thing that comes to your mind.

Me: Troll under the bridge ... What am I thinking?


From the publisher

Welcome to a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary boxes into colorful costumes, and their ordinary block into cardboard kingdom. This is the summer when sixteen kids encounter knights and rogues, robots and monsters—and their own inner demons—on one last quest before school starts again.


In the Cardboard Kingdom, you can be anything you want to be—imagine that!:


Check out your library or buy on Amazon or B&N.

This is not a paid post, I do not earn money from it or blog about it.






Amazing Allegorical Graphic Novel of keeping and growing a heart...


From the Publisher:

"What would you do if you were the only person left with a heart? The only person left who felt anything at all? Would you give in to the pressure to conform? Or would you protect your heart at all costs? Part Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and part Severance, this debut teen graphic novel is a vivid and haunting read for fans of Nimona and This One Summer.


Not that long ago, the Scientist discovered that all sadness, anxiety, and anger disappeared when you removed your heart. And that's all it took. Soon enough, the hospital had lines out the door—even though the procedure numbed the good feelings, too.


Everyone did it. Everyone except high school student June. But now the pressure, loneliness, and heartache are mounting, and it’s becoming harder and harder to be the only one with a heart.


One day, June comes across an abandoned heart in a jar. The heart in the jar intrigues her, it baffles her, and it brings her hope. But the heart also brings her Max, a classmate with a secret of his own.


And it may rip June’s own heart in two.


Part speculative fiction and part cautionary tale, The Faint of Heart is a moving and ethereal debut that questions morality and the feelings that seem too big to contain. "


5/5 Stars:

Great use of accent of colors to tell this story filled with love, and metaphors. People have decided to take their hearts, a procedure to help them deal with negative emotions. The procedure also gets rid of the good emotions. Still, one refuses to go through this and finds a way to change the world. Mystery, friendship, love for family, love, love for art, and creativity.

Amazing design of the panels with perspective, silence and point of view.


Buy from Amazon or B&N.


























2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page