top of page
Search

Summer VAMP



My Review

5 stars plus

Aw. Holy Pony. I cry with the most random things. This is an amazing graphic novel, hilarious, and such an homage to friendship. I just laughed out loud and the last page made me tear up.


Almost 13 years old Maya loves cooking, following her favorite Yotuber's recipes but she doesn't have friends and she takes the news of having a stepmom badly so her father sends her to a Summer Camp (Cooking is the focus) there is a mistake and she ends in a Vampire Camp. So many hilarious scenes. I love the artwork, the expressions, and the story. This is one I will collect as a physical copy.


The Vampires are friendly and they have all sorts of regular activities just like a regular summer camp, including tag, mean girls, games, and teamwork, but what they don't have is cooking workshops. At first, Maya is trying to get away from this camp, but then she makes new friendships and learns to have fun. She even conquers her fears with a little help from her new friends. Made me want to join them!


Bumblebee For Life! ahah! I so wanted to eat Maya's crepes and they used them in a food fight! Oh NO!




Thank you Netgalley and publisher for this e-arc.

@tbrbeyondtours & @violchan


Book Info:

Summer Vamp by Violet Chan Karim

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy

Publishing Date: May 14, 2024

 

Synopsis:

What happens when a very human kid ends up at the wrong summer camp—FOR VAMPIRES?! This quirky and heart warming graphic novel about making friends and getting in trouble is perfect for fans of Witches of Brooklyn.

After a lackluster school year, Maya anticipates an even more disappointing summer. The only thing she’s looking forward to is cooking and mixing ingredients in the kitchen, which these days brings her more joy than mingling with her peers . . . that is until her dad’s girlfriend registers her for culinary summer camp! Maya’s summer is saved! . . . or not. 

What was meant to be a summer filled with baking pastries and cooking pasta is suddenly looking a lot . . . paler?! Why do all of the kids have pointy fangs? And hate garlic? Turns out that Maya isn’t at culinary camp—she’s at a camp for VAMPIRES! Maya has a lot to learn if she’s going to survive this summer . . . and if she’s lucky, she might even make some friends along the way.

 

Book Links:

 


About the Author:

Violet Chan Karim is a comic artist and writer from Boston, Massachusetts. Her love for cartoons, books, and movies as a child led to her pursuing a career in writing and illustration as an adult. She graduated with a BFA in Sequential Art from Savannah College of Art and Design in 2020. Violet’s debut graphic novel, Summer Vamp, will be published in 2024 with Random House Graphic. She also creates the webcomic, Death of a Pop Star, with Webtoon.


 

Author Links:

 

Tour Schedule:

 

 


 

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page