top of page
Search

Master Lullaby - Thriller Audiobook


Genres: (Adult)

HorrorParanormalFantasyAdultThrillerAudiobookFiction


My Review:

5/5

This is my favorite type of mystery that mixes urban fantasy with nightmares, unexplainable evil or paranormal, large cast, demons, mythological creatures and demons from other cultures, gore, insight into the murder perspective (thoughts), and more than one evil murder. I've listened to the audiobook version. With two narrators, a female and a male. I loved both voices. My favorite characters were Beth and Teddy. It's a creepy, dark, small-town mystery with some cliches, but also feels fresh. It's about 12 hours but I didn't notice, it just moved fast. The different POVs and many characters and perspectives start to weave together into a single eerie story.



(Note: This post includes affiliate links and I will earn money if you click and buy using the bottom above)


From the Publisher:

From J. H. Markert, the

author Peter Farris calls the "clear heir to Stephen King," Mister Lullaby brings our darkest dreams and nightmares to life. In the vein of T. Kingfisher and Christopher Golden, the boundary protecting our world from the monsters on the other side is weakening—and Mister Lullaby is about to break through. The small town of Harrod’s Reach has seen its fair share of the macabre, especially inside the decrepit old train tunnel around which the town was built. After a young boy, Sully Dupree, is injured in the abandoned tunnel and left in a coma, the townspeople are determined to wall it up. Deputy sheriff Beth Gardner is reluctant to buy into the superstitions until she finds two corpses at the tunnel’s entrance, each left with strange calling cards inscribed with old lullabies. Soon after, Sully Dupree briefly awakens from his coma. Before falling back into his slumber, Sully manages to give his older brother a message. Sully's mind, since the accident, has been imprisoned on the other side of the tunnel in Lalaland, a grotesque and unfamiliar world inhabited by evil mythical creatures of sleep. Sully is trapped there with hundreds of other coma patients, all desperately fighting to keep the evils of the dream world from escaping into the waking world. Elsewhere, a man troubled by his painful youth has for years been hearing a voice in his head he calls Mr. Lullaby, and he has finally started to act on what that voice is telling him—to kill any coma patient he can find, quickly. Something is waking up in the tunnel—something is trying to get through. And Mr. Lullaby is coming.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page