top of page
Search

Graphic Novel - Fox Maidens (Korean Mythology - Historical Fiction)



My Review:

5 stars


A genuine Korean story illustrated with lots of details from the period and culture. As a lover of Korean historical shows, I love this story. Gumiho, the nine-tailed fox is my favorite Asian myth in any Asian culture.

In this graphic novel, we follow a young girl who loves martial arts and doesn't want to be ladylike and marry. Kai wants to learn how to fight and help her father investigate crime, but when she comes of age secrets unravel and she learns more about her mother, how a Gumiho helped her mother, and why Kai became a fox as well. Kai must choose what to do next and who to become. She will struggle and find despair but also the love of another girl who is unique.

I loved each chapter and the ending even more.

Well-written and beautifully illustrated. For teens and older readers.

Thank you Netgalley and publisher for this e-ARC


Get it here (official site Harper Collins)


From the Publisher:


From the bestselling, award-winning creator of Almost American Girl comes an epic new graphic novel fantasy—a queer, feminist reimagining of the Fox Maiden legend from Korean mythology. Perfect for fans of Nimona, Squire, and The Prince and the Dressmaker.

Kai Song dreams of being a warrior. She wants to follow in the footsteps of her beloved father, the commander of the Royal Legion. But while her father believes in Kai and trains her in martial arts, their society isn’t ready for a girl warrior.

Still, Kai is determined. But she is plagued by rumors that she is the granddaughter of Gumiho, the infamous nine-tailed fox demon who was killed by her father years before.

Everything comes crashing down the day Kai learns the deadly secret about her mother’s past. Now she must come to terms with the truth about her identity and take her destiny into her own hands. As Kai desperately searches for a way to escape her fate, she comes to find compassion, and even love, in the most unexpected places.

Set in sixteenth-century Korea and richly infused with Korean folklore, The Fox Maidens is a timeless and powerful story about fighting for your place in the world, even when it seems impossible.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page