top of page
Search

Dead things... Did not expect Zombies!



5 stars

This is such a fun read. It goes from her only worries are how to not switch a coffee order, to zombies running after them in two chapters. I had a great time reading it. The dialogue is fun, their interactions are hilarious, the characters are interesting and we keep learning more and more about them and their skills. The villain is fun as well. I recommend this to urban fantasy/ dystopian, zombies/ superpowers, and a hint of magic fan readers.


Book Info:

Dead Things Are Closer Than They Appear by Robin Wasley

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publishing Date: February 13, 2024

 

Synopsis:

A painfully average teen’s life is upended by a magical apocalypse in this darkly atmospheric and sweepingly romantic novel perfect for fans of The Raven Boys , Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and The Rest of Us Just Live Here .


High school is hard enough to survive without an apocalypse to navigate.

Sid Spencer has always been the most normal girl in her abnormal hometown, a tourist trap built over one of the fault lines that seal magic away from the world. Meanwhile, all Sid has to deal with is hair-ruining humidity, painful awkwardness, being one of four Asians in town, and her friends dumping her when they start dating each other—just days after one of the most humiliating romantic rejections faced by anyone, ever, in all of history.


Then someone kills one of the Guardians who protect the seal. The earth rips open and unleashes the magic trapped inside. Monsters crawl from the ground, no one can enter or leave, and the man behind it all is roaming the streets with a gang of violent vigilantes. Suddenly, Sid’s life becomes a lot less ordinary. When she finds out her missing brother is involved, she joins the remaining Guardians, desperate to find him and close the fault line for good.


Fighting through hordes of living corpses and uncontrollable growths of forest, Sid and a ragtag crew of would-be heroes are the only thing standing between their town and the end of the world as they know it. Between magic, murderers, and burgeoning crushes, Sid must survive being a perfectly normal girl caught in a perfectly abnormal apocalypse.


Only—how can someone so ordinary make it in such an extraordinary world?

 

Book Links:

 


 

 

About the Author:

Robin Wasley is a YA fantasy writer with a soft spot for orphans, found families, and funny girls with no special skills who find themselves in extraordinary circumstances. She grew up in a family of adoptees, never truly seeing herself reflected in the books she devoured. As an adult, when she saw an Asian American girl on the cover of a YA book for the first time, she cried.

 

Author Links:

 

TBR tours, check out here.

 


 

 

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page